Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

steam out of exhaust

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
69 barracuda h/m View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 69 barracuda h/m Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: steam out of exhaust
    Posted: June-02-2016 at 4:47pm
hey i am new here and i have a problem, i have a 69 correct craft barracuda with a 351 h/m. i took it out this past weekend and noticed what i think is steam coming out of the passenger side exhaust only and it is overheating. i checked the oil and i saw no water, and i have done some reading here and i keep seeing people talk about the impeller breaking into pieces and clogging things, has anybody had the same issue and could they both be the same problem? i have a general understanding of motors and how they work but i have no experience with the cooling system on this boat. does anyone have any tips on what to look for ?
-Alex
shierh View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shierh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-02-2016 at 5:12pm

could be impeller.    open up the water pump and take a look.   if it is torn up then you will have to fish out all the junk. take off the thermostat housing and clean out and remove the riser.   

is the water flow the same from both pipes? if you have a rusted shut riser then there will be very little water flow and it will steam as well.   put hands on manifolds, are they the same temp?

if the steam was not there before then you may have a vacuum leak.   Use wd 40 around carburetor base then around intake while its running, you will find it.   
GottaSki View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GottaSki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-02-2016 at 5:41pm