Forum Name: Engine Repair
Forum Discription: Engine problems and solutions
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=38878
Printed Date: May-01-2024 at 9:28pm

Topic: steam out of exhaust
Posted By: 69 barracuda h/m
Subject: steam out of exhaust
Date Posted: June-02-2016 at 4:47pm
hey i am new here and i have a problem, i have a 69 correct craft barracuda with a 351 h/m. i took it out this past weekend and noticed what i think is steam coming out of the passenger side exhaust only and it is overheating. i checked the oil and i saw no water, and i have done some reading here and i keep seeing people talk about the impeller breaking into pieces and clogging things, has anybody had the same issue and could they both be the same problem? i have a general understanding of motors and how they work but i have no experience with the cooling system on this boat. does anyone have any tips on what to look for ?

-------------
-Alex

Replies:
Posted By: shierh
Date Posted: June-02-2016 at 5:12pm

could be impeller.    open up the water pump and take a look.   if it is torn up then you will have to fish out all the junk. take off the thermostat housing and clean out and remove the riser.   

is the water flow the same from both pipes? if you have a rusted shut riser then there will be very little water flow and it will steam as well.   put hands on manifolds, are they the same temp?

if the steam was not there before then you may have a vacuum leak.   Use wd 40 around carburetor base then around intake while its running, you will find it.   

Posted By: GottaSki
Date Posted: June-02-2016 at 5:41pm
You had me till the vacuum leak

-------------
"There is nothing, absolutely nothing, half so much worthwhile as messing around with boats...simply messing."

River Rat to Mole

Posted By: tryathlete
Date Posted: June-02-2016 at 7:31pm
Yeah- I'd edit the post if I could. Vacuum leak not a potential for ANY steam action or overheat. All else is great!!!!