Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

need prop help for ’76 ski tique

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
moses View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote moses Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: need prop help for ’76 ski tique
    Posted: August-31-2008 at 5:22pm
help me or point me in the right direction boys. i'm a newbie . my 76 ski tique won't pull little old 270lbs. of me out of the water with any speed even on two skis .the motor is in fine shape and its running a 3 blade 11inch 14pitch prop. with 3 on board, there is no quick coming out of the water, and the top speed with 3 on board at wot is 3800 rpm and 44 mph. if we drop a bunch off on the pier , 2people at wot can get to 4400rpm and 46mph, but still no good take off. i'm feeling that the prop is wrong and don't know which way to go, 3 or 4 blade? and what pitch? is there an orig. prop and pitch suggested for the 76 tique or should i try the oj co. for a suggestion? you guys like them a bunch. thanks for such anice site and forum , its been alot of fun to check it all out. moses
james m
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-31-2008 at 9:30pm
James,
First, you have the wrong boat for lots of people. The Tique for skiing ideally should have the driver and the observer.
The numbers don't add up. You drop off one person and gain 600 RPM's? How do you know the engine is in good shape? Compression test? Your 4400 WOT isn't bad.
The Tiques came with 12" dia. props. I'm running a 12 X 13 O.J. on mine. 302, about 4400 WOT and I'd guess at around the 44 to the 45.
Where did the 11" dia. prop come from? The only CC's that ran them are the shorter (14'6") Atom skiers!!!

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy