Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

wood floor replacement options?

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
skellum View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote skellum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: wood floor replacement options?
    Posted: July-26-2004 at 3:42am

The plywood floor (particularly under the drivers feet could use replacement on my 64 skier. It looks like plywood, but i know there are like 50 different types of plywood.

is there a particular type of plywood/particle board that works best for this application.

after cutting, before installing, is there some type of treatment/paint/covering that should be applied to any flooring like this?

as my icon says, i'm a newb. :-/

thx!
David F View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-26-2004 at 3:06pm
I am not familiar with the 64 construction, but I know my 77 did not have a wood floor from the factory. The floor was fiberglass laid over a structural foam.

When I restored the boat in 89, I removed the fiberglass floor, let the foam dry out over several weeks in the sun, then used 3/4 marine grade plywood with a fiberglass overlay. I painted the bottom and edges of the plywood with epoxy resin prior to anchoring to the stringers, etc. So far, the floor is rock solid.

Be aware that this method adds height to the floor and you must account for this in some areas as applicable to your boat. It also adds weight, but the end result is worth the added weight. Also, marine grade plywood just means it is a structural plywood (no voids) with waterproof adhesive. It will still rot just like any other plywood, so it must stay dry. Good luck.
skellum View Drop Down