Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

When is it time to rebuild carb?

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
BrettB1 View Drop Down
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrettB1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: When is it time to rebuild carb?
    Posted: April-23-2005 at 10:36pm
Hey guys,
I'm a newbie to the forum & just bought a 78' ski nautique. Everything is good except for the choke seems to not function, therefore to get the first start I have to manually "play" with the carb a little bit. What can I do to fix the choke problem. Do I need to rebuild the carb? I was also wanting to change to electonic ignition. I was wanting to get the Pertronix kit but I don't know which model number to order. I have a 351windsor pcm. PLEASE HELP!
Highflyer View Drop Down
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Highflyer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-23-2005 at 11:38pm
Check to see if the choke linkage is binding...also check to see if the choke plate is binding. Observe if the setting on the thermostatic spring housing is correct. Check for the correct carburetor gasket or spacer combinations. On disassembly of the carburetor, check the fuel level or if the fuel inlet needle is sticking or incorrectly seating.
64 Skier View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 64 Skier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-24-2005 at 5:02am
If your pumping the throttle to get the engine primed I'd say that's normal.

Just my opinion, but I'd go ahead and rebuild a 20 plus year old carb and replace the water pump impeller and then slowly start rebuilding the starter, alternator and accessories.