Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

pvc

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
gordonw View Drop Down
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gordonw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: pvc
    Posted: April-19-2005 at 12:22am
Curious what exactly the pvc valve does as it is related to vacum. How do you tell if it is bad? This is in my 1980 American skier with a 351 commander. Sorry guys I know this is a cc site but at least its the same motor. Thanks
jimbo View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jimbo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-19-2005 at 3:26am
I'm by no means an expert but this is my understanding. The PCV should have a hose going to the flame arrestor. When air is being pull through the carb, it will also pull air through that hose, through the valve and from the crankcase. The idea is any volitile hydrocarbons will be sucked into the carb and burned by the engine. The way I've always undersood to tell if it's bad is to pull it out of the crankcase with the engine running and stick your finger over the hole. If it sucks it's ok. I've also heard you completely disconnect it and shake it. You should hear the valve rattle around. If the valve doesn't move freely, replace it. That's my understanding. Maybe somebody that knows what they're talking about can chime in.
David F View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-19-2005 at 12:50pm
Jimbo:

You have it about right.

Gordonw:

Just go ahead and replace the valve for peace of mind...they cost just about nothing.
captan1 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote captan1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-19-2005 at 2:09pm