NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Please ease my concern

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Ryan S. View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ryan S. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Please ease my concern
    Posted: January-28-2006 at 2:27pm
I'm a rookie when it comes to engines so I'm hoping somebody can ease my concern. My paranoia comes from my father-in-law's cracked block two summers ago. I had my boat (1997 Ski Nautique) winterized in November and the mechanic filled the block with 50/50 antifreeze and water. I opened the engine cover today just to check around and I was a little surprised to see some water pooling up around the drain in the bilge. Not enough to flow over the lip of the drain yet (almost), but I know it was completely dry when I put it away for the winter. Is this something to be concerned about? Could it be condensation? Is seems dry in there. I have this fear that the block has a little crack in it and water is leaking out. The boat is covered (carport and cover) and dry, except for a little concensation on the seats and pylon. Thanks for your input.
Ryan
bkhallpass View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bkhallpass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January-28-2006 at 2:34pm
My money's on condensation. Regardless, nothing you can do about it now anyway. You took the proper precautions, so just leave it be till spring. It will be fine.

You might put a silica can (you can buy them at Home Depot), or a light bulb under the cover, just so the condensation does not turn to mildew.

BKH
Livin' the Dream

NAUTI84 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NAUTI84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January-28-2006 at 2:55pm
I wouldn't worry to much,