Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Buying the Boat

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
bnhbutts View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bnhbutts Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Buying the Boat
    Posted: February-10-2010 at 7:42pm
In buying a Correct Craft - Ski Nautique/Sport or Super Sport - how do I know if the boat is in good working condition aside from what the poster says about the boat? What about someone who has completely refurbished a boat? I am not a novice, but I am not an expert either. I want to be able to make the right decision in buying. How many hours are too many hours on an engine?
Bob B.
Randy_in_Ohio View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Randy_in_Ohio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-10-2010 at 7:51pm
Drive it! And check for rotted stringers if it is pre-1993
Donald80SN View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Donald80SN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-10-2010 at 8:13pm
Some of the hour meters do not seem to last may years. Many of the meters either have been replace or have not worked in a long time. Mine is stuck at 489 hours. It is hard to get a real read of the true number of hours. Many of our boats have over 1000 hours. I would looking for a rebuild after 1500 hours. However, some on this site are over 2000 and 3000 hours.

If the boats appears to have been taken good care of, it probably was. It is looks rough, the motor and trans were probably not well taken care of.

Also make sure that it has been winterized if you are in cold climate.

Donald
SNobsessed View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah