NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Winterizing PCM GT-40

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Ajskier View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ajskier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Winterizing PCM GT-40
    Posted: October-16-2015 at 5:22pm
Hello All,

It is that time of the year here in Ohio, time to put the boat away for the winter. I have winterized outboards before, but I have never done a ski boat before, let alone a boat with EFI, so I just want to make sure that I have all the of steps down and that I am not missing anything. I am doing this on an 2001 Nautique with the GT-40, no heater or hot water shower.
1) Add stabilizer to fuel
2) Warm the boat up to running temp, then drain and change oil and filter.
3) After oil has been changed, start the boat back up to circulate new oil through out the engine.
4) Shut boat down, then pull all drain plugs from motor. I think there are 5 total. Is that correct?
5) After water has been drained, replace all of the plugs and tighten to torque specs. Do you have to put some anti-seeze on the plugs when you are putting them back in?
6) After plugs have been put back in, I am going to hook up the 5 gallon bucket fake a lake set up that I have and then add 5 gallons of anti-freeze to the bucket, fire up the boat and let the anti-freeze be pulled into the motor. Once the anit-freeze starts to come out of the exhaust, shut the motor down.
7) Crack a beer and shed a tear because the season is over.

I do have a couple questions and wanted to get everyone's thoughts.
1) The Nautique Manual says to pull the spark plugs and add roughly a teaspoon of preservative oil to each cylinder. Do people do this or do they use fogging oil? I have heard that you are not suppose to fog EFI motors.