NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Carb - Warm Start Help

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Slupe View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Slupe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Carb - Warm Start Help
    Posted: August-07-2012 at 9:08pm
I am a rookie CC owner having what seems to be a common warm start issue. The boat cold starts great with 2 or 3 pumps on the throttle.   It also starts easily on 1st crank if it's been turned off for a very short time - swapping a skier.   However, after a break on the water for more than a few minutes, it's a real hard start. Either a long crank or WOT. The engine is still warm - I am trying to restart without any pumps or throttle.

My searching points to fuel leaking into the carb after shutoff.   The fix is either a float adjustment or needle & seat replacement. Am I on the right track?   How can I trouble shoot this further or can you point me to a manual or good post on doing this adjustment/repair?

Jllogan View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jllogan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-07-2012 at 9:22pm
bingo, when you stop the boat look in the flame arrestor, if it dripping fuel, 99% sure it is, its flooding itself. Look in the reference section for the PCM manual for your boat or the ford 351 manual. Both have in depth descriptions of the float adjustment.