NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

vibration during turns

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
nauti girl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nauti girl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: vibration during turns
    Posted: February-15-2004 at 5:45pm
I'm new to the inboard ski boats. We bought a '78 Martinique 351W Commander toward the end of last summer. I notice when my skier falls and I turn around at speed I feel a lot of vibration. Is this normal? Does it mean I need a shaft bushing? ...or a rudder bushing? ...or should I just get used to it?
Nauti Girl
--I think my husband uses his own login now!
tryan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tryan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-15-2004 at 11:28pm
i would check those, but could be numerous things.

first, i would check the bolts into the stringers for the motor/tranny mounts and your alignment.

second, i would look at the driveline to see if everything is 'true.'

see if the end block on the steering cable is tight onto the stringer also.
Jeff View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jeff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-16-2004 at 6:06pm
Nauti Girl,

You may be experiencing propeller cavitation. Are you turning around the same direction each time? Try turning the other direction and see if the vibration changes.   My '89 Nautique sensitive to direction in a sharp turn.

Jeff
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nauti girl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-16-2004 at 9:13pm
Jeff,