NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

strut, cutless,shaft

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
4woody View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 4woody Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: strut, cutless,shaft
    Posted: August-24-2011 at 12:47am
If someone could help..the strut set screws one is misssing   ( one close to prop ).I can see the shaft and if put screw back in am afraid that it will it the shaft.. now is there sopose to be a sleeve there or what. Please help ..
verdi1 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote verdi1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-27-2011 at 1:03pm
I am no expert and new to the site, but if you read through some of the threads you can learn a lot very quick. Look on www.skidim.com under struts/bearings you will see what they call a strut bearing but is actually the cutlass bearing. It is a bronze sleeved 2 piece bearing with rubber on the inside, more than likely what your seeing is not the shaft it is the outside of the cutlass bearing. However if for some crazy reason there isn't one there you will have a lot of play in the shaft and a huge problem beyond that.
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-27-2011 at 1:32pm
How much radial play do you have on the prop shaft? If the cutlass bearing is missing, there will be about 1/8". Hopefully this is not the case and as mentioned, you are looking at the outer brass case of the cutlass.

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah