NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Engine Block cracked. Need Help

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Andrew McBride View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andrew McBride Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Engine Block cracked. Need Help
    Posted: June-08-2005 at 3:35am
I bought a 83' Ski nautique few months ago knowing there was some engine work needed to be done. Bad luck though, a head and the block was cracked. I am no mechanic by any means.

My question is...is there a difference between a Marine 351W vs. a reg. 351W. Obviously the cooling system in completly different. I have been told so many different things: "The marine blocks have thicker walls, the gaskets are different, there is no difference." I want to just make sure and get this strait. I am going to have to find another block and another head, have the motor re-worked and machined. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Great site by the way, really enjoy the posts on this forum

Andrew
Andrew McBride
83' Ski Nautique
"Under Construction"
AWhite70 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AWhite70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-08-2005 at 12:02pm
I assume you're asking about the block and heads specifically, not the entire engine.

You're engine is reverse rotation (RH-spins clockwise when standing behind the engine looking forward) because of this your cam, crank, distributor gear, starter rear main seal and front cover seal are RH specific. An automotive engine spinst in the opposite direction (LH)