Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Transmission Help

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
knewt View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote knewt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Transmission Help
    Posted: January-27-2007 at 5:14am
I have a 84 CC with a bad transmission. It fails going forward, some forward movement in gear but never kicks in when power is applied, engages and moves fine in reverse, failed while towing a skier and either fluid was low or old/contaminated. I have flushed/fixed the fluid problem with no change in symptoms. The transmission is a Velvet Drive.

I will have the transmission out soon to possibly deliver to a repair shop. But if I wanted to do it myself, can someone recommend a manual or place to buy a rebuild kit and/or parts. Do I need any special tools? Any ideas on cost? I have never done this before so any help is appreciated.
eric lavine View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eric lavine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January-27-2007 at 11:48am
nothing you can really do with the trans in the boat, no quick fixes, if you decide to do it yourself, parts should be under $100.00 unless you need a pump depending on where you buy them. get a price on a rebuild if you decide to go that route. it sholdnt be anymore than $650.00 to $750.00 if it is your paying to much.
eric
"the things you own will start to own you"
knewt View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote knewt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January-27-2007 at 1:36pm
Thanks for the reply.

The transmission is out of the boat, no problems so far. I don't believe the pump is bad since it works fine in reverse.

Would anyone recommend this manual for the first timer? -