NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

how do ballast tanks work?

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
David F View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: how do ballast tanks work?
    Posted: August-31-2008 at 1:18pm
Well, took delivery of my "new" 99 NSS (nautique super sport) yesterday and immediately pulled the interior and ballast tanks to give the entire interior a good power washing (I think I found a set of mouse dentures). So, this morning I was thinking what is the proper proceedure for filling and emptying the tanks (I have never used tanks before). The ballast tanks are CC factory tanks. What I think:

To fill:
Open Seaco**
Open valves
Turn on pumps (switch in "fill" direction) while driving about 22mph.

To empty:
Simply turn on pumps in "empty" direction?

So, do the tanks empty out the bottom of the boat, or out the side. Is the side port a vent only?

Going to put it all back together today so we can take our maiden ride tomorrow.

BTW, only thing mice ate on engine were the plug wires. Already have them replaced. Check compression and all cylinders within a few psi of 135.
bkhallpass View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bkhallpass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-31-2008 at 2:36pm
In 99, should fill and empty through bottom of boat. Should be a single 2 way assist pump. Side port is a vent, but there should
be a ball valve so that water can push through
in an overflow situation.