Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

floor repair advise

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Lisa View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lisa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: floor repair advise
    Posted: December-07-2006 at 8:15am
I have my boat in the shop getting the floor replaced. They are telling me that it is not necessary to replace the foam. Is this correct. If so, why was the foam in the boat in the first place? Can anyone please give me advise since I am not an expert and have no idea if I am getting the right information? Thanks, Lisa Boat is 1974 Skier
The Lake View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Lake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December-07-2006 at 8:43am
Lisa,
If the foam is not soaked there would be no need to replace it. However you could ask them to drill a couple of spots to see if they find any water.
Have you noticed any water seeping into the bilge after you have pulled the boat out of the water?
Or, have you noticed the boat porpoising?
Did the shop think the stringers were solid, not rotted?
OK, now someone who is smarter than myself can help out. BTW, what kind of boat do you have?

Chuck

Walk on Water
www.coldwater.me

69 Ski Nautique
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TRBenj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December-07-2006 at 8:46am