NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Seeking advice on gel coat restore

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
bpurnell View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bpurnell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Seeking advice on gel coat restore
    Posted: December-13-2016 at 5:14pm
I am working on restoring the gel coat on my 1991 Ski Nautique. This is my first time tackling this kind of project and I would appreciate some advice.

Here is my plan:

3M Rubbing Compound (05954) applied with 3M Superbuff Compounding Pad (05704) @ 1500 RPM

3M Finesse-it II Glaze (35928) applied with 3M Superbuff Polishing Pad (05705) @ 1500 RPM

Star Brite Premium Marine Polish with PTEF applied by hand.

3M Ultra Performance Paste Wax applied by hand.

Let me know what you guys think. I am specifically wondering if I need to be using a foam or synthetic pad for machine polishing.

Thanks

Brian
Blamey View Drop Down
Gold Member
Gold Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Blamey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: December-13-2016 at 6:50pm
Originally posted by bpurnell bpurnell wrote:

3M Rubbing Compound (05954) applied with 3M Superbuff Compounding Pad (05704) @ 1500 RPM

3M Finesse-it II Glaze (35928) applied with 3M Superbuff Polishing Pad (05705) @ 1500 RPM

I have used with great results. I used a foam pad for the Glaze but was planning on switching to wool next time round. The boat shines. It will remove oxidation really well and leave the gel nice and glossy.

I don't know anything about the Star Brite product but you probably don't need it. Looks like a cleaner wax to me (polish and wax) I'd probably skip it as you won't need another polish after the 3m Glaze and go straight to waxing. I use Collinite Liquid Fleetwax but 3M should be great too.

96 Super Sport