Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

79 Ski Tique motor options

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
skippy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote skippy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 79 Ski Tique motor options
    Posted: February-14-2008 at 12:02am
Newbie here, Im looking at one of the Tiques on this site for sale. The owner of 9 years says the 351 is the stock motor. I had a 78 when I was younger and I only recall the 302 and 305 chevy as the only motors avaliable. Was the 351 an option on the Ski Tique?
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-14-2008 at 7:43am
Steve, You have found what looks like a nice Tique but I feel the seller is wrong on the engine. Unless it was a special from the factory, I think the engine has been swapped and it looks like some upgrades have been made. The 302 or the optional 305 was it. When you look at the boat, take a look at the prop to see if the correct rotation engine was used. It should be a right hand and have a right hand prop on it. When looking at the prop from the stern, a right hand will turn clockwise in the forward direction.

You've come to the best spot for anything to do with Correct Crafts. Welcome and keep us informed.

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
79nautique View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 79nautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-14-2008 at 2:00pm
one quick way to tell the difference is to look at the intake manifold. On the 302 is not much more wider than the carb base. On the 351 you'll have a about 1.5" on each side of the carb.
skippy View Drop Down