Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

98 SN 60A breaker trips

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
flth20 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote flth20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 98 SN 60A breaker trips
    Posted: August-17-2022 at 9:25am
HI, I am a newbie to the site and would appreciate some help.  I'm having a problem with my 98 SN that just started.  I've owned the boat for 4 years.  It was a Gulf Coast of TX boat for 20 years and now is a seasonal NH boat.  It has 796 hrs and has run fine since I bought it.  I got COVID in July and the boat sat at my dock for just over a month.  During that time it was very hot and humid (for NH...😊) and a fair amount of rain.  Boat is always covered when not in use.  I went to use it again last week and upon turning the ignition key to the run position, everything seemed fine.  The dash came on, the Perfect Pass fired up and all seemed good except I saw that it appeared the bilge pump had not been working as the water in the bilge was above the pump.  I turned the key to start and all I got was a click from the back.  I checked and found the 60A breaker tripped.  I reset it and tried again with the same result.

Since then I have done the following:

1.  Removed the bilge pump as I had not previously noticed that it was wired with standard crimp connectors with no shrink tube or other waterproofing and the connectors were in the water.  After I removed the pump and disconnected the wires and made sure the power and ground wires were not in the water or touching anything, I tried again with same result, everything on the dash and PP fired up but the 60A breaker immediately tripped when I turned the key to start.