Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Video - Holley 4160 Carburetor Rebuild

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Wacko View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wacko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Video - Holley 4160 Carburetor Rebuild
    Posted: June-06-2021 at 1:12pm
I am no expert but I thought some people here may appreciate a video of me rebuilding my Holley 4160 Carburetor off of my 1980 Ski Nautique

https://youtu.be/iYxAjYwsvuw

Any feedback is appreciated.
KENO View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KENO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-06-2021 at 6:01pm
I kinda like your style but for starters, you really didn't clean any of the metering passages.

Carb cleaner and compressed air are your friends.

The spray cleaner hardly got used and there was no compressed air.

The carburetor list number (50483)you gave is "not quite right", I think if you read it again you'll see 50463 stamped there Wink

50483 is a Holley 4010 model carburetor and that 6  can be misread pretty easily as an 8. You got a carb kit for a 4160 though that works with a 50463

You're also missing the primary float bowl vent baffle. It wasn't there when you took it apart so it would be kinda hard to put it back in if you never had it.

Got some other comments that I'll send by PM if you want them.

Here's a picture of the vent baffle that you're missing on the primary metering block. (It really goes underneath the gasket not above like in the photo)

Wacko View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wacko Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-06-2021 at 9:05pm