Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Cold start

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
David14 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cold start
    Posted: April-23-2020 at 1:14am
Hi
I have a 1992 pcm engine on my ski Nautique. It won’t start when cold. Complete nightmare wrestling match to finally get it fired up. Once fired and warm though, it runs great all day. I’m not a mechanic at all but wondering if possibly it needs a carb kit for the holly. Or an ACT sensor maybe?
Need help

Thanks
Jonny Quest View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jonny Quest Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-23-2020 at 2:31am
ProTech EMS or distributor? Have you verified that the electric choke is functioning properly? If you give the throttle 2 or 3 full pumps, can you see fuel squirting down the carb bore? Have you checked the timing? These are a few things to check and then let us know what you find. Also, more info is usually better than less...

JQ
Current
2003 Ski Nautique 206 Limited

Previous
2001 Ski Nautique Open Bow
1994 Ski Nautique Open Bow

Aqua skiing, ergo sum
David14 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-23-2020 at 12:33pm
thanks--yes, there is fuel entering carb when i pump the throttle. timing is perfect.
KENO View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KENO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April-23-2020 at 12:37pm
Originally posted by David14 David14 wrote:

thanks--yes, there is fuel entering carb when i pump the throttle. timing is perfect.