Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Pylon flex

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Wi_Ski View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wi_Ski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pylon flex
    Posted: May-31-2005 at 1:54pm
Hello,

I am fairly new to ski boats, so forgive me if this is a stupid question. But...How much pylon flex is normal when you've got a large skier, say 200+ lbs., cutting pretty hard? I've got a 94 Ski Nautique, and just noticed this weekend that the pylon flexes about an inch or so back and fourth. Is this normal? Should I be concerned? I checked the mountings, they seem to be fine. I'm wound tight enough as it is regarding the boat, so needless to say I found it pretty unnerving.

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!

Jeff Rakocy
Madison, Wisconsin
94 Ski Nautique
David F View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David F Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-01-2005 at 12:44pm
The pylon on my '77 flexes about the same. To help you relax a bit, carefully inspect the floor deck at the base of the pylon for soft spots. Also, if the base is not moving, then nothing to worry about.
Wi_Ski View Drop Down
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wi_Ski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-01-2005 at 7:43pm
Thanks for the info David. I'll check where it goes through the floor and the base in the bilge agian, hopefully I didn't miss anything.

Jeff Rakocy
Madison, Wisconsin
94 Ski Nautique
SGY View Drop Down
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SGY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-02-2005 at 2:24pm