Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rudder Lubrication

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
eklock View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eklock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rudder Lubrication
    Posted: February-29-2008 at 11:54pm
I recently took a ride in my friend's '97 SN and was amazed at how easy the steering wheel turned. Under load in a hard turn I could easily steer with one finger. I own a very well-maitained '91 SN with less than 300 hours on the meter; my boat has never steered as easily as Ed's '97. Ed is a machinist by trade and always thinking of ways to improve things mechanically. I asked if he had devised some sort of power steering unit for his boat. He just smiled and described to me his remote rudder lubrication system.

From C3600 brass Ed has fabricated a ¼-28 NPT to ¼" Compression fitting to replace the "zerk" fitting on his rudder stuffing box. The compression fitting is used to route ¼" heavy-wall tubing to a thru-hull
fitting which he made to accept a zerk fitting. This thru-hull fitting is located beneath the swim step. He lubes his rudder before each outing.

My eyebrows went up as I mentioned to him that the owner's manual does not mention such frequent lubing of the rudder shaft. He then proceeded to explain that a good bearing surface requires one metal to be harder than the other. Since both the stuffing box and rudder shaft are bronze they require more lubrication to prevent premature wear and galling.

He went on to explain that CC uses a longer tiller arm than other manufactures. The longer arm provides more leverage thereby masking excess friction on the rudder shaft. "Regardless of the long tiller" he went on to explain, "sooner or later you'll have a stiffer turning wheel and excessive wear on your rudder shaft".