Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

'77 Ski Tique Fuel Level Sensor

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
txleadfoot View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote txleadfoot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: '77 Ski Tique Fuel Level Sensor
    Posted: October-18-2020 at 4:13pm
I have the fuel tank out and the fuel level sender removed.  Can someone tell me the best way to test it?  I'm getting an Ohm range of .02-.27 when grounding to the chassis of the sender, and the power probe to the top screw housing while moving the wand full range.  Forgive me, I am not an electrical expert!

8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-18-2020 at 4:32pm
Shaun,
The most standard full to empty Ohm range for a fuel gauge and sender is 33 to 240. There are others but I'd say you should have the 33 to 240. Did you move the arm to get the reading? But, it sounds to me by the Ohms you are reading that a new sender is in order. 

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
KENO View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KENO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: October-18-2020 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by txleadfoot txleadfoot wrote:

I have the fuel tank out and the fuel level sender removed.  Can someone tell me the best way to test it?  I'm getting an Ohm range of .02-.27 when grounding to the chassis of the sender, and the power probe to the top screw housing while moving the wand full range.  Forgive me, I am not an electrical expert!

I guess the natural question would be ...............what did the gauge read before you took things apart?