Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Engine Problems

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
brad7114 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brad7114 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Engine Problems
    Posted: June-11-2004 at 5:13pm
I need some help. I just purchased my first CC (1970 Mustang w/Holman Moody). I am very new at this so keep it elementary for me. After replacing fuel pump, oil, oil filter I finally got the engine running two weeks ago. In the process of replacing the floor of the boat I removed the fuel tank and replaced it the next day. I tried to crack then engine from there on and it will not fire up. It is turning over but will not fire on up. I know the carburator is getting gas. I do not think I am getting any spark on the plugs. I replaced the spark plugs, cables and still no go. I feel like it is a distributer problem (Mallory Electronic Ignition). What is my next step in going back from plugs and cable to see if it is a distributer problem or where else should I look? Again keep it simple. This is the first engine I have really dealt with on my on. I do understand that messing with a distributer can be risky if you do not know what you are doing. Please help.
Mustang Man
Opelika, AL
Rick View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-12-2004 at 5:02am
Are you sure you are getting fuel to the carb? If so,run a jumper wire from the Positive Battery cable side of the starter solenoid or battery to the + side of the coil. Try cranking it again. Get a spark tester and hook it in line and crank to test for spark.You may want to rreplace the coil if you aren't getting spark after trying all of the above.
66polyhead View Drop Down