Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Help with My Horn

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
BarracudaBay View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BarracudaBay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with My Horn
    Posted: August-08-2018 at 2:30am
I will start by saying I am an amateur so please take it easy on me ;)

I recently purchased a ‘68 CC Barracuda SS and I’m loving it. It has a rebuilt engine and it runs well but I am trying to make some minor repairs. One issue is my horn. The horn electronics are working (the button triggers the solenoid) but the horn doesn’t sound. The air tank is in my bow and it has a line running to the horn and to the engine. Can anyone provide me with some insight regarding how the vintage Hadley horns actually work on a Correct Craft of this age?

Any tips for how to trouble shoot my horn problem?

Thanks!

8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-08-2018 at 7:01am
Rafe,
The "air tank" you mention sounds like a replaceable Freon cartridge. I'd say it's empty. The replaceable "air source" was very common back then. Post a picture so we can confirm.

Speaking of pictures, how about some of the boat too. I and I know others would love to see it.

Welcome to CCfan.

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
fanofccfan View Drop Down
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fanofccfan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-08-2018 at 10:16am
My fix for replacing the Freon cartridge was to install a small air compressor. I also need to install a regulator as they are ear dealing loud with 120 psi!😬. As Pete said pictures are encouraged!