Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Seat Skins

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
throttle out View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote throttle out Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Seat Skins
    Posted: November-20-2017 at 10:05am
Those folks out there that have successfully sewn up new seat skins for the interiors of their boats, I'm looking to learn any tips or tricks from you that you learned along the way.
I know this is vague and that this process can potentially not be something you would recommend a complete novice to perform. I simply can't afford Christines Marine at this time and I still need to be able to enjoy my boat with my family. I have access to a commercial/industrial sewing machine, and to be honest my uncle is egging me on to do it as he did his 93 Mastercraft 190 a few years ago. Obviously he is a base point of knowledge for me however, about halfway through his he ran out of time and paid someone to finish it for him.
Big initial questions I have are;
- How much vinyl do you recon I would need roughly to do a complete 1989 Ski Nautique deluxe interior ( I understand that I will likely scrap many pieces in the learning process)
- As thread goes, what is that goods and what is junk for marine environments
- I will be using what I can from my current interior for patterns, do I simply cut the at the seams and pattern them directly?

I understand there is far more involved to replacing the seat skins than simply the vinyl, but I am simply trying to focus on what it takes to reproduce the skins ONLY. I'm not a pro when it comes to the other parts of a job like this but I have experience in those aspects of it.

Any help, tips, tricks, or pointers would be HUGELY appreciated!!!!

Thanks Yall!!!

1989 Ski Nautique 2001 351 PCM w/ 1-1.23