Forum Name: General Discussion
Forum Discription: Anything Correct Craft
URL: http://www.CorrectCraftFan.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=41074
Printed Date: May-03-2024 at 9:36pm

Topic: 1990 Ski Nautique Overheating
Posted By: Greektique
Subject: 1990 Ski Nautique Overheating
Date Posted: May-15-2017 at 10:50pm
I am new to Nautique. I previously owned a Mastercraft with similar engine,, but I was lucky and never had any issues with it from date I'd purchase to resale.
I placed boat in water and left on trailer to check it out. The engine began overheating immediately. Turned off took to hose and connected to intake hose to cool motor. Nothing happened. Shut down motor and drive it home to let cool. I ordered a new raw water pump impeller and installed per instructions. Connect water hose to outlet hose of strainer because I could not get intake hose off again. The boat ran great and maintained 153 degrees. I reconnect system and took to lake. Put in water and noticed it. Engine to go passed 153 degrees. I shut it down and inspected and found the strainer empty so is was not pulling water. I'm lost at this point. Please help

Replies:
Posted By: Gary S
Date Posted: May-16-2017 at 12:00am
Check all hose clamps before the raw water pump,tighten them with a nutdriver not a screwdriver. Then remove the strainer bowel and check to make sure there is a gasket between it and the strainer assembly. Make sure raw water pump is on correctly since it can be mounted either way and one of the ways won't pump

-------------
http://www.correctcraftfan.com/diaries/details.asp?ID=1711&sort=&pagenum=1&yrstart=1966&yrend=1970" rel="nofollow - 69 Mustang HM SS
95 Nautique Super Sport

Date Posted: May-16-2017 at 12:09am