Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Strut Alignment - Help Needed

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
Poorhouse View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Poorhouse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Strut Alignment - Help Needed
    Posted: June-19-2017 at 11:47am
Replacing the prop shaft with an ARE.

See backstory here:
Link

I'm new to boating and boat ownership. So, I read everything I could on how to do this job and how to align engine to shaft. Prepared to knock this out on Saturday and water test Sunday. LOL, not so fast.

What I found is the shaft is very low in the log. I was hoping the cutlass bearing was worn out on the bottom, but it looks new.
This puts me in the position of having to align the strut.
I'm nervous about opening this can of worms.

With the front of the log supported I have 1/8" to 1/4" clearance at the bottom of the log.
I know the shaft should be centered, but would this work?
I've read it's possible to bend the strut in place to make up for slight misalignment.
Is this recommended (or realistic)?

If I need to pull the strut what is the correct process to align it? I've read about washers, epoxy wedges, grinding hull or grinding strut.

Pics:

Sold - 1986 Supra Sunsport Skier
Current - 1996 - MC Prostar 205
I keep doing this wrong.
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-19-2017 at 12:23pm
Jake,
I suggest some stainless washers between the strut base and hull at the aft end. It won't take many. One under each side will probably do it. Then after a dry fit, re bed the strut in 4200.

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<
TRBenj View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah