Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

79 Ski Nautique 3000rpm max!?

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
FirstNautique View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FirstNautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 79 Ski Nautique 3000rpm max!?
    Posted: July-24-2016 at 11:49pm
Just picked up a 79 Ski Nautique with the 350. I brought it to my mechanic and had timing done, carb cleaned, new plugs, general look over.

Boat starts right up, runs smooth, in neutral I can rev it right up with no hesitation... once in gear it is smooth acceleration to 3000rpm and roughly 30mph top speed. This can't be normal, everything I heard this boat should pull hard out of the hole compared to my old 3.0L mercruiser.

It has a 13x13 prop, I am new to inboards so any help please, like I said it seems to be running smooth, just not a there!

Thanks in advance, sorry for for long post...
8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-25-2016 at 7:36am
Ian,
The 3000 and 30 is not normal. Did the mechanic water test? I ask since if so, he should have known something wasn't correct. Did he say anything? You mention he timed the engine. Did he check the advance? You mention he cleaned the carb. Did he check to see if the secondary's are opening?

54 Atom

77 Tique

64 X55 Dunphy

Keep it original, Pete
<

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FirstNautique Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: July-25-2016 at 7:57am
He did not water test. When I dropped it off the boat ran very rough. What should the advance be?

Like I said I found it weird the motor revved up to 4800 rpm near instantly in neutral, and sounded very strong. But was sluggish in gear.
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah