NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Ski Supreme vs American Skier (non CC)

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
phickman View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote phickman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ski Supreme vs American Skier (non CC)
    Posted: March-29-2009 at 12:58am
My friend is hoping to get into an inboard of his own this summer. Over the past few years I have turned him on classic inboard ski boats. I have been around and owned 2001's and older MCs. I am not an expert but I know what boats to walk away from from these manufacturers

He is drawn toward the older Ski Supremes and American Skiers (non CC). Both are great looking boats, traditional designs that us purists love. I just don't know much about them to help him. Drive trains are what we are all used to being around him. Longevity of design, fit and finish, stringer problems, availability of parts are what I would like pass along wisdom to him about these boats. I want him to enjoy his first inboard and not buy a nice and shiny nightmare.

What are the things to watch out for on the old Ski Supremes and Non CC American Skiers?

Thanks in advance
Paul Hickman
GottaSki View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GottaSki Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: March-29-2009 at 1:15am
Both, like others of the vintage are prone to stringer and floor rot.

Like you suspect, powertrains are similar across all breeds.

A few supreme hulls can chine lock under some conditions and that makes the steering inoperable till you slow down. Some blame it on the 'G' mold but that is not my experience.