Forums
NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

1981 Nautique Graphics

Post Reply Post Reply   
Author
TrentRivrRat View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TrentRivrRat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1981 Nautique Graphics
    Posted: September-07-2007 at 2:55am
Newbie here - been looking through the boards to find info on the best way to go about replacing all the lettering, striping and graphics on our 1981 Nautique 20th Anniversary Edition.

Some say do vinyl, others seem to like painting. I am seriously considering painting the entire boat with Imron, mainly because the river on which we live is full of tannins, causing discoloration on the gelcoat even after a short afternoon on the water. Plus, the gel is looking bad overall.

Anyway, is there a source for the vinyl lettering, or should I go to a local sign shop, have them create the graphics from scratch? Any help would be appreciated.
MarineSRT8 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MarineSRT8 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-07-2007 at 6:38am
Paint Good!!!....Vinyl Bad!!!...If the boat was painted to begin with, paint it!!!...you will only lose value by putting stick on graphics. As for Imron...NO NO NO...The luster of Imron will last about a summer and then it will not shine anymore no matter how many coats of wax...Go with Awlgrip. Post some pictures of the boat....any cracks in the gel???
"Some people go an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference. Marines don't have that problem"

-Pres. Ronald Reagan-

8122pbrainard View Drop Down
Grand Poobah
Grand Poobah

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 8122pbrainard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-07-2007 at 9:06am