NautiqueParts.comNautiqueSkins.com - Correct Craft Upholstery and Part
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Ignition timing - odd behavior

Post Reply Post Reply Page   12>
Author
garykocis View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote garykocis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ignition timing - odd behavior
    Posted: July-15-2018 at 5:22pm
I been working through a series of issues with my 1978 Mustang 17 (Ford 302), and had some postings last year. At this time, I'm working to get engine running after having it re-built (2017 winter) and re-assembled (within the last few weeks). I'm a novice, so I'm doing the best I can with information that I can find.

I believe that the engine and most components are in reasonably good shape. Engine will run, but it is behaving strangely. Recently, I have done the following:
[a] attempted to get distributor in proper alignment by having engine at TDC with rotor pointing at spark plug #1 (and I have checked/double-checked firing order, spark plug wiring). I'll call this position A. At position A, I can't get the engine to start, not even close!

The only way I can get engine to start is to rotate distributor clock-wise about 1/2 the distance to the next spark plug post in the distributor cap. I'll call this position B. At position B, the engine will start consistently, but it idles fast as ~1600 RPM (carb idle adjustment will not reduce idle speed). And, when I try to get timing reading I find that it is off the scale completely.

So, then I adjust distributor in counter clockwise rotation and when I get back to position A I find that: (a) I can get idle around 1000 RPM, and (b) I can get a timing reading, (c) and I can fine-tune positioning to get a good reading at 12 degrees. In other words, everything seems fine (as best I can tell) at Position A. But, engine WILL NOT start at this position.